Sunday Night Dinners

It’s pretty typical for my family to have people over for dinner on Sunday. My grandpa almost always comes over, and often we have a family or just a few friends over. It’s fun, and it gives us a chance to cook together, try new recipes, and have fun. Oh, and eat some great food of course.This Sunday was no different. A couple of my dad’s friends were coming in from out of town, and he wanted to show them a good home-cooked meal.

Some appetizers were had:

I’m not exactly sure what each of these cheeses is. The log is goat cheese, there’s blue cheese, white cheddar, and I’m not sure what the one with red specks is. And in the back is homemade raspberry jam. White cheddar + jam is amazing!

Homemade bread on the right, and another loaf of bread on the left. Homemade anything is the best. And we’ve started to do this new thing where we make a big hunk of bread dough, and you just pull off a piece of it when you want some fresh bread. Amazing!

Spring salad!! Strawberries and feta are the best together on a salad. I also made some caramelized pecans. And a dressing made of Dijon, olive oil, lemon juice, honey, salt, and pepper. I think I could’ve eaten this whole bowl.

Spring risotto. It had peas, leeks, asparagus, and probably some other things. A drizzle of heavy cream at the end made it rich and…creamy. This just reminded me of Rose, who made risotto the other day! I agree with her–even though it takes a while, it is SO worth it.

And what would a trip to Seattle be without…

Fresh salmon. I don’t know what exactly was on it, but I know it was a mix of herbs and Dijon mustard. Mustard and salmon is SO good. This is probably one of my favorite ways to have it. My other favorite way is to sear it on a HOT pan for a minute or two, and then finish it off in the oven for a few minutes. It gets crispy and delicious. I love having salmon so readily available here in the Northwest.

Perfectly cooked.

We had a pretty cool dessert as well.

Bananas Foster!

I think everyone enjoyed it 🙂

Oh my goodness. I just finished making something in the kitchen, and it’s just incredible. It has to do with bananas. I’ll leave you with this…

Roasted bananas with cinnamon, brown sugar, and butter. You’ll see what it is next time 🙂

6 responses to “Sunday Night Dinners

  1. I think your risotto looks better than mine! Those peas look fresh and delicious 🙂 Like you said – totally worth it!

  2. That wasn’t blue cheese, it was Gorgonzola!

  3. Mmm those bananas look AHmazing, that’s such a cute pic with your bowl too!

  4. Tina that was some of the best food we’ve had in a long time and we thoroughly enjoyed meeting you and rest of your family! I’ve added your blog to my Favorites list will keep coming back.

  5. what an awesome meal! I miss big family dinners and we have them anytime we’re all together.

Leave a Reply

