Banana…

I’m sure you were all just waiting in anticipation to find out what those bananas were for right? Let me remind you…

This would be 4 bananas covered in brown sugar, cinnamon, and a touch of butter. Roasted in the oven for 30 minutes until golden and syrupy.

Well, these bananas were for ICE CREAM! I came across this recipe a month or so ago and knew I had to make it. My boyfriend has been begging me to make banana ice cream for a couple months and I was too nervous to try it! Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE bananas, but I wasn’t sure how well it would work. Of course, I gave in and gave this recipe a try. It turned out amazing, and was probably one of my best ice cream creations yet.

Oh yeah, ice cream is kinda my thing. I spent my senior year of high school making gallon after gallon of ice cream for my senior project. A senior project is basically where you pick something to learn about–anything really–and work on it the whole year. 60 cumulative hours. I started with vegetarian cooking, then changed it to Italian cooking, then to bread making, and finally settled on ice cream. I am SO glad I did, because it has been so rewarding and everyone loves it πŸ™‚

Anyway, after roasting the bananas you let them cool completely. Stir together heavy cream, whole milk, sugar, vanilla, and salt. In a blender, you add the bananas and some liquid. You end up with this light brown mixture, and let me tell you, it tastes very good before it’s even frozen. But I decided it would probably be even better as ice cream, so I stuck it in the ice cream maker.

I seriously love this thing. It cost around $50 and is 100% worth it. I’ve made back that money plenty of times over in the amount of delicious ice creams I’ve made.

After 30 or so minutes the ice cream is ready. Of course, I didn’t want this to just be plain banana ice cream. And what goes better with bananas than…peanut butter and chocolate? πŸ™‚ Oh yeah.

I melted a few handfuls of chocolate chips in a double broiler on the stove. While the ice cream maker is going, you slowly drizzle in the chocolate and it hardens immediately into these perfect chunks and ribbons.

Get out your container and put some of that ice cream in the bottom. Using your favorite peanut butter, throw some big spoonfuls in and swirl it around a bit. Keep going layer by layer. I find this gives you maximum enjoyment throughout the container.

Swirl those last scrapings of peanut butter and chocolate into the top and you’re done!

Ohhhhh boy, this ice cream is amazing. Definitely in my top 5.

The boyfriend definitely approved πŸ™‚

3 responses to “Banana…

  1. Hey Sunshine!!

    That ice cream looks crazy good. I might have to make a loq budge version with Greek Yogurt aince I don’t have an Ice Cream maker haha

    I was just reading your Tina page and I can totally relate to your love of your home city. I moved away for college for a year and although it was okay I felt like I lost part of myself. I love the city I grew up in, I feel like I’m someone here. Sometimes it takes moving away to realize how good ya have it! I’ve always wanted to go to Seattle though, I heard the shopping rocks.

    Annnnd I TOTALLY have to try my breakfast cookie in an Almost Empty Jar haha That’s the BEST idea!!

    Hope you’re having a fantastic weekend!!

  2. oh im so glad u like my blog! thanks for the comment. i love the title of urs and ur pics are fantastic. i just subscribed to it, so i’ll be back for sure. xoxo

  3. Ooooh my gosh, that ice cream looks to die for!

Leave a Reply

