Sunday Brunch

Yes, I am aware that it’s Thursday but we had an awesome brunch on Sunday that I’ve been wanting to share.

I think I’ve mentioned before that my family pretty much always has someone over for food on Sunday. I’m not sure how it happened, but it’s really become kind of a tradition. This past Sunday was no different, and we had my sister Grace’s friend Jenna come over along with her family. Jenna’s family took Grace to California over spring break a few weeks ago, so this was my parent’s way of saying thank you!

No table is complete without some pretty flowers, right?

As always, my mom went way over the top and made sure we had quite enough food for only 4 extra people.

The main course (I guess that’s what you’d call it) was bagels. Of the plain and everything variety. That’s kind of funny to me. Either everything on your bagel, or nothing at all. I’m not sure why that amuses me. I’m tired.

Tomatoes and onions for toppings.

In the middle there, we have some smoked salmon which is essential for bagels. I NEED to go to New York and have a real bagel with smoked salmon and cream cheese. I should have taken advantage of the $20 bus tickets when I was in Maryland! Oh well. I will get there someday. Of course, we also had cream cheese and capers on the table for the bagels. On the left in this picture, is the best coffee cake ever. Well, one of the best I’ve had. It’s Ina Garten’s recipe. We use plain yogurt instead of sour cream and skip on the glaze. The crumbly topping and streusel throughout the middle of the cake is so good. I’ve been crumbling extra pieces of it on my oatmeal this week. Oh my.

I also made us some scrambled eggs. I threw in some random things–I think some dill, splash of milk, salt, pepper, feta, and…I think that’s it. It was a while ago!

A little yogurt bar if you will, with plain yogurt and granola. Not homemade, but so good. We got some big bags of this from Costco.

A GIANT fruit salad. Demolished by morning the next day. This had bananas (my favorite thing in fruit salad, they get so mushy and mm!), pineapple, mango, grapes, kiwi, and strawberry. I Love Fruit.

And finally a Caprese salad topped with a balsamic vinaigrette. Executed by Bianca, and very good.

So, there you have it. That’s how my family does brunch.

One response to “Sunday Brunch

  1. oh my god! look at all that! so exciting!!! 😀

    my fav is the cake, the fruit, and the eggs. WOW! lucky lucky lucky girl!

    have a great night love xoxo ❤

Leave a Reply

