Dad’s 50th Birthday

July 7th was my dad’s 50th birthday. He thinks he’s pretty old, but I really don’t see that as old. And with the exception of the gray hair, I don’t think he looks his age! 🙂 I really don’t understand why people (especially women) get upset about getting older. Maybe because I’m not at that point yet, but I just see it as having more life experiences and getting to do more and more. I know I can’t wait til I’m in my 20’s.

My dad requested a big seafood feast for his birthday, and he definitely got it! We love utilizing our grill in the summer and taking advantage of all the fresh food that is available right now.

My grandpa always supplies the appetizer of a variety of cheeses. The orange one in the back is my favorite, and it’s called Cotswald. I believe it’s a cheddar cheese and it has onions and chives in it. So good! The funny looking cheese on the left is something my parents picked up and I’m not sure what it is. And the last one was Havarti.

Bread grilled on…the grill. This was used to soak up the juices from our scallop dish.

Fresh salad with blueberries, strawberries, toasted nuts, and feta. And a homemade lemon-Dijon vinaigrette.

Corn on the cod is the epitome of summer dinners for me.

Grilled shrimp on skewers. Shrimp is probably my favorite seafood. I love it SO much!

Big scallops made based on this recipe from Ina Garten. She’s the best. We’ve made this numerous times and it’s always so good.

Individual plates of ceviche made by my mom. She serves it with a round of sweet potato and an onion salad.

The family! Minus mom who took the picture.

My dad requested two desserts, and since it was his 50th, we obliged. He wanted something lemon and something chocolate.

Bianca made a chocolate cream pie with graham cracker crust. Topped with fresh whipped cream and chocolate shavings!

I made a lemon meringue pie but in the form of bars. I love meringue! It’s crazy how egg whites can become that consistency and taste so good.

Well, that’s all. I’m pretty sure my dad had a great birthday, and we ended the night with chatting around the fire which is always the best.

3 responses to “Dad’s 50th Birthday

  1. THAT FOOD IS INCREDIBLE!! OMG! i would have loved to be there celebrating!!

    happy 50th to ur DAD!! ❤

  2. Great pictures and a great birthday, thanks a million!

    Love,

    Dad;

  3. Looks SO good. Keep up the wonderful blog!

Leave a Reply

