This summer.

So, I think I’m going to attempt blogging again. No promises, but my family and I have been doing a ton of cooking and baking this summer, and I want to share what we’ve made.

Amazing grilled vegetables when we had friends over for dinner one night.

Homemade buns made by Bianca.

Blueberry muffins to send to someone šŸ™‚ Not gonna lie, I was pretty proud of how pretty these looked! I hate muffins that don’t rise above the rim of the pan so I made sure to put extra batter in each cup. And I love muffins with streusel so I made some of that to top the muffins with. I used this recipe for the muffins and this recipe for the streusel.

My friend and I got together one night and had a baking night! This is some crazy peanut butter-banana-chocolate chip bread topped with swirls of peanut butter, nutella, and banana slices.

We also made these oatmeal cookies that had nuts and chocolate chips in them. A sprinkle of salt added the perfect touch.

I made a few loaves of this apple-walnut bread. I took a recipe for whole wheat apple muffins from smitten kitchen, made a few changes, and made it into bread instead. Everyone that tried it really enjoyed it! The buttermilk makes it really moist, and I also added about a 1/4 cup of yogurt to each just to ensure that the bread would not be dry. Dry baked goods do not make me happy. Toasted walnuts seemed like they’d be a good mix with the apples as well. On top of each loaf I swirled a little peanut butter (I can’t seem to bake without it), sprinkled more nuts on top, and added a little brown sugar for a little crunch. I loved it!

Okay, this post is getting pretty long but I made frittata a few times and want to share it! I loved the idea of using a brown rice crust for the frittata and based it off that recipe from Closet Cooking. Everything else I kind of did spur of the moment.

Summer Vegetable Frittata with Brown Rice Crust

1. Add 1 egg to 2 cups of cooked brown rice.

2. Season the rice and egg with whatever you’d like. I just pulled ground black pepper, dill weed, garlic powder, and cayenne pepper out of the cupboard. This was a while ago, but I probably added some salt to the mix.

3. Press the mixture into a pan and bake at 425 for about 10 minutes, or until golden.

4. Meanwhile, chop up your veggies and whatever protein you want to add. The first time I made it I used zucchini, fresh corn, asparagus, onion, and tempeh. The second time around I used leftover roasted potatoes, corn, brussel sprouts, summer squash, zucchini, and tomato.

5. After the vegetables have cooked a little, put them in a bowl. Add 4 or 5 eggs, depending on how much vegetables you have to cover. I also added goat cheese, but the last time I used feta. I think I liked the feta a little more. When goat cheese melts it just doesn’t have the same flavor to me. By this time, your crust should be done. Pour the egg mixture into the crust and move it around a little to even it out.

6. In a 350 oven, bake the frittata. I can’t remember exactly how long mine took, but probably around 25-30 minutes. Maybe less. I just kept sliding a knife inside until I thought it was done and it looked set.

8. Let it cool for just a minute or two and enjoy!

I found it best with lots of hot sauce šŸ™‚ I also found the best way to reheat it was in the oven on a piece of foil. I got the crust really crispy and heated it all the way through.

Next post–My dad’s 50th birthday!

Leave a Reply

